Social Media: It’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll (But I Like It)

They Might Be Giants
Music has always been a big part of my life. One of my earliest memories of connecting to it was when I was 8. My grandparents always hosted Sunday brunch. And I always brought over my portable record player so that I could listen to my Top 40 songs while my family ate whitefish and lox.

When I was old enough to attend live concerts, I did so with near compulsion. In 1988, the time came to choose between attending my senior prom or seeing a killer triple bill of hardcore punk bands. The decision could not have been made faster. MDC and AOD headlined a great show…

In graduate school, I founded a music fanzine that did pretty well for itself. During that time, I met a lot of musicians — including some of my favorite artists and others who fell into the camp of “rock stars.”

Soon after I published my ‘zine’s swan song in 2003, I packed up my rock ‘n’ roll suitcase and tucked it away for safe keeping. Little did I know that I’d be constantly pulling out that bag with my work in social media.

I’ve had so many memories of these times envelop me lately. These thoughts and reflections have inspired me to write a series of blog posts of my encounters with rock ‘n’ roll and how they apply to social media. It might be hard to imagine how on earth the Beastie Boys connect to BlogWorld, but I will attempt to lay it all down.

The first post is slated for December 8 —  the 31st anniversary of the assassination of John Lennon. In the wake of that tragedy, I learned a lesson that I still incorporate in my work (especially in the work I do online). I’ll tell you what I learned in that upcoming blog post.

It’s an all ages show and no advanced tickets are necessary. Here’s hoping I hear back from you on the Sierra Tierra blog on December 8 and the weeks to come with this Social Media Rock series.

Photo credit: They Might Be Giants taken by sierratierra.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Looking forward to the series.

    There are lots of correlations between rock n roll and how individuals/businesses can apply the same promotional tactics to social media.

    Rock on. =)

    Reply

  2. Posted by sierratierra on December 16, 2010 at 10:51 am

    I think so too, Dave! I’m sure you can make similar parallels with your artist community.

    Reply

Give Me Your Comments

